Computer Engineering students hailed 2019 Toro Inter-School IT Elite champions

School of Computing

February 28, 2019

Over the years of hosting the competition, the number of participants has increased significantly and the IT Elite Challenge 2019 has taken on to a new level. TSS Trixan Support Services (better known as TORO Limited) hosted its first national competition that expands its reach and welcomed delegates from outside the region. This is a competition wherein students from different schools are given the chance to show off their skills, learn new techniques, and compete in the technological field.

For the 2019 competition, twenty-seven (27) colleges and universities in and outside the region participated in TORO Limited’s first national competition. It was divided into three different streams: (1) Frontend Development, (2) Backend Development, and (3) System Administration.

On each stream, a champion per category was given Php 20,000.00 cash gift, a plaque of recognition, the perpetual trophy and a job offer right after graduation. Last February 15, 2019, the final leg of the competition was conducted at the University of the Assumption, City of San Fernando.

Out of 200 teams, the perpetual trophy was regained as Holy Angel University - School of Engineering and Architecture (HAU-SEA) emerged as the victor for the SysAD category in which the competition is an application of Networking Skills and Server Administration. Fles Russelle Torres Sr. and Abdullah Jandali Jr., both BS Computer Engineering students were declared as the champion.

The Qualifying Round was held online in two batches last September 19-21, 2018 and September 25-27, 2018. A new streamlined online format has been designed to make it easier for more schools to participate outside of Region III. There were a total of 34 teams from HAU-SEA who joined the competition for the three categories.

The competition was opened to all students of Bachelor of Science (BS) in Information Technology, BS Computer Science, BS Computer Engineering, BS Information System or any computer/IT related program only whose schools are partners of TORO Limited. 12 teams from HAU-SEA qualified for the championship round. They were all B.S. Computer Engineering students composed of senior and junior participants each team, to wit:

Category: Frontend

  1. Senior: Venjie Val Banks
    Junior: Jan Michael Gueco
  2. Senior: Josef Mary David
    Junior: Maico Degorio
  3. Senior: Justine Niña Carreon Junior: Alyanna Shayne Galang


Category: SysAd

  1. Senior: Giselle Ayson
    Junior: Francis Ian Aquino
  2. Senior: John Christian Garcia
  3. Senior: Fles Russelle Torres
    Junior: Abdullah Jandali
  4. Senior: Jassem Edhel Puri
    Junio: Arnaz De Jesus


Category: Backend

  1. Senior: Jules Rosen Esteban
    Junior: Celine Joy Salac
  2. Senior: April Joie Arazo
  3. Senior: Paul Michael Pangan
  4. Senior: Kim Belas
    Junior: Jayvee Galang
  5. Senior: Rafael Hogan
    Junior: Paulomer Dizon


The coaches were Engr. Lucky Padilla (SysAD), Engr. Jan Romeo Manaloto (Back-end) and Engr. Gina Tumang (Front-end). Front- end winner is from Gordon College while the Back-end winner is from Angeles University Foundation.