HAU celebrates 86th Founders Day

University News

March 21, 2019

As an annual university tradition, a day-round commemoration of the Holy Angel University 86th Founders Day was celebrated by the university community on March 8, 2019. A wreath-laying ceremony was held at the Holy Mary Memorial Park to pay respect to the university founders, Don Juan De Dios Nepomuceno, his wife Clara Teresa Teodora Gomez, and co-founder Archbishop Pedro Paulo Santos. This was followed by a community mass at the Chapel of the Holy Guardian Angel officiated by Archbishop Paciano Aniceto. A film screening of the HAU-produced “Aria” was also held at the University Theatre as part of the celebration. This year is Don Juan’s 127th birth anniversary and the University’s 86th founding anniversary.

Special awards given to 6 awardees

The Founders Day celebration also awarded the accomplishments of six individuals in their respective categories. The University confers the Order of the Archangels on individuals who serve as inspiration and role models by representing the best qualities of the archangels. This year's awardees were Rey Alberto Franco, Order of St. Gabriel for Outstanding Achievement by an Alumnus; Fredeswinda Narciso Bauzon, Order of St. Raphael for Outstanding Service to the University; and Adelaida Paras Villegas, Order of St. Michael for Outstanding Contribution to Catholic Education by a Layperson.

The Juan D. Nepomuceno (JDN) Cultural Awards, on the other hand, are given to cultural workers, scholars and artists who advance the cause of Kapampangan studies and Kapampangan culture. The awards are named after the University founder who was a cultural advocate through his works in the Kapampangan language. The awardees were Edna Zapanta Manlapaz for Outstanding Achievement in Kapampangan Research & Scholarship; and Claudio Moises “Claude” Suarez Tayag for Outstanding Achievement in Kapampangan Arts & Culture.

The special category of Laus Deo Semper Award, named after the school motto (“Praise be to God always”) is given to an individual who is known for his work in community service and development. This award was given to Clarita L. Magtoto.

Previous awardees include National Artist Bencab, Allan “Apl.De.Ap.” Pineda, Patis Tesoro, Brillante Mendoza, Anicia del Corro, John Larkin, Willy Layug, Nina Tomen, Ambeth Ocampo, John Larkin, and Andy Alviz.