News and Events

5th Paragala introduces 8 new awards

On its fifth year, the Holy Angel University (HAU) Paragala 2018 announced eight new awards and winners, respectively during the awards night held on March 10, 3:00 PM at the University Theatre. These are the Archbishop Pedro Santos Award, Merit Award For Station Which Promotes Culture, Best Male Recording Artist, Best Female Recording Artist, Best Actress in Film, Best Actor in Film, Best Film, and Best Director.

Paragala, dubbed the Central Luzon Media Awards is organized and spearheaded by HAU’s Communication students. It is the biggest student-based award giving body in the Philippines and the first media award-giving body in the region which shall be known to reward, as the name suggests (Paragala means a token given for a service rendered; reward), all good things mass media have been known of; like providing good programs for the audience.

Around 30,000 students from 31 schools in different provinces of the region have participated in the identification of winners through voting.

Bela Padilla (100 Tula para kay Stella) and Paolo Ballesteros (Die Beautiful) were named Best Film Actress and Actor, respectively; Bea Alonzo (A Love to Last) and Coco Martin (FPJ's Ang Probinsyano) Best TV Actress and Actor, respectively.

ABS-CBN's Karen Davila won Best Female News Anchor-Hall of Fame and GMA7's Arnold Clavio won Best Male News Anchor and Hall of Fame Award.

"This Paragala award is indeed (on) a different level. Tapos pag nalaman mong 30,000 students from different universities in Central Luzon ang kinukuhanan ng boto, it gives you the inspiration, at nakakagulat... Ito'y patunay na maraming nakikinig at nanonood at malaki pala ang responsibility mo. Just what I said… as to my commitment that hindi ko sila bibiguin. Para sa akin hindi ito recognition, bagkus ito'y parang we are watching you. The students are my best guide, my best critique. Sila ang future leader and future broadcaster. Congratulations sa kanila at hindi sa akin," said Clavio.

Other winners were:

Vice Ganda, Jessica Soho, Mike Enriquez, and Eugene Domingo, Hall of Fame Awards

ABS-CBN, Best National TV Station

CLTV 36, Best Local TV Station

Die Beautiful, Best Film

Jun Lana, Best Director

FPJ's Ang Probinsyano, Best Teleserye

Unang Hirit, Best Morning Show

24 Oras, Best News Program

Steve Dailisan, Best Male Field Reporter

Doris Bigornia, Best Female Field Reporter

Jason Dy, Best Male Recording Artist

Yeng Constantino, Best Female Recording Artist

Pepito Manaloto, Archbishop Pedro Santos Award and Best Sitcom

ABS-CBN Pampanga and GNN 44, Merit Awards for Stations which Promote Culture

ASAP, Best Musical Variety Show

It's Showtime, Best Noontime Show

Vhong Navarro, Best Male Noontime Show Host

Anne Curtis, Best Female Noontime Show Host

GV FM 99.1, Best Local Radio Station

Ding Cervantes of the Philippine Star, Journalist of the Year

Date Posted: 03-16-2018