News and Events


TSS Trixan Support Services (better known as TORO.IO) conducted its first extensive competition dubbed as TORO Inter-School IT Elite Challenge 2016. It is an annual event that the company intended to support on a regular basis. For the 2016 round, thirty-nine (39) colleges and universities in the region participated in this competition. It was divided into three categories. The following categories were

  • Frontend Development
  • Backend Development
  • System Administration

On each champion per category was given twenty thousand pesos (Php. 20,000.00) cash gift and a plaque of recognition. Last February 15, 2017, the final leg of the competition was conducted at Holy Angel University, Angeles City. Only one winner was declared per category and Holy Angel University - School of Engineering and Architecture (HAU-SEA) emerged as the victor for the SysAD category in which the competition is an application of Networking Skills and Server Administration. Mellow Rutherford D. Mendez (Sr.) and Jassem Edhiel O. Puri (Jr.), both BS Computer Engineering students had impressed the judges and declared as the champion.

The Qualifying Round for the TORO Inter-School Elite Challenge for Pampanga Cluster 3 was held at AMACC, Angeles City last December 2, 2016. There were fifteen (15) teams from HAU-SEA who joined the competition for the three (3) categories namely, Back-end, Front-end and SysAd.

*The fifteen (15) Teams of B.S. Computer Engineering students of HAU-SEA with their mentors, Engr. Gerard Cortez and Engr. Gina S. Tumang during the Qualifying Round

The competition is open to all students of BSIT, BSCS, BSCpE, BSIS or any computer/IT related program only whose schools are partners of TORO Limited. From the thirty-nine (39) participating schools from the region, six (6) teams from HAU-SEA qualified for the championship round. They are all B.S. Computer Engineering students composed of senior and junior participants each team and they are:

Back End:

  • Sr. - Sam M. Gopez
  • Jr. - Daniel Joshua Guiao
  • Sr. - Jarrel B. Constantino
  • Jr. - Ivan P. Macapagal

Front End:

  • Sr. - Dexter L. Nunag
  • Jr. - Josefa Mae C. Sicat
  • Sr. - Verrel Victor G. Soriano
  • Jr. - Erwin S. Capati


  • Sr. - Mellow Rutherford D. Mendez
  • Jr. - Jassem Edhiel A. Puri
  • Sr. - Joshua Rom O. Pulido
  • Jr. - Nathaniel S. Lintag

*The six (6) teams who participated in the championship round with their coaches, Engr. Padilla, Engr. Manaloto and Engr. Tumang

The coaches were Engr. Lucky Padilla (SysAD), Engr. Jan Romeo Manaloto (Back-end) and Engr. Gina Tumang (Front-end). The championship round was held last February 15, 2017 at SFJ Multi-purpose Hall hosted by the HAU-CICT. The competition started at 9:30 AM and lasted until 3:00 PM. The judges for the event are the I.T. manager and senior programmers of TORO.IO headed by the Australian founder and CEO himself, Mr. David Brown.

The awarding of the perpetual trophy happened last June 19, 2017 at Sacred Heart Building, Holy Angel University during the General Assembly of HAU Chapter. This will not be exclusive to the winning school. It will only reside at our school for a period of one year until a new winner has been awarded. In the event that our school wins the same category the year after, it will continue to reside in our institution.

In addition, Mr. Mendez also automatically got a job offer from the company after graduation. This event was a milestone for SEA since this is the first time that the school have joined the competition. Front- end winner is from Mabalacat City College while the Back-end winner is from Angeles University Foundation. All winners hail from the province of Pampanga.

Date Posted: 07-11-2017