News and Events

Comm League holds 2016 Paragala Awards Night

In its third year of giving recognition to the best in mass media, Paragala: Central Luzon Media Awards handed out its first set of Hall of Famers on March 12, 2016. GMA Network Inc.'s Mike Enriquez accepted his Hall of Fame award for being voted the Best News Program Male Anchor for the third consecutive year in front of a full crowd at the Holy Angel University Theater. Joining Mr. Enriquez in the Hall of Fame are fellow GMA News personalities Arnold Clavio as Best Morning Show Host and Jessica Soho as Best News Program Female Anchor and Best Magazine Show Host.

A new category for Best Male and Best Female News Reporter was awarded to ABS-CBN's Atom Araullo and GMA's Kara David respectively. Winnie Cordero accepted the Best Morning Show award for ABS-CBN's Umagang Kay Ganda.

The three-year reign of Best Noontime Show Host and Best Talk Show Host Vice Ganda led ABS-CBN's award haul in the entertainment category, taking three of nine awards including the Hall of Fame plaque. Rounding up the Hall of Fame awardees was Best Game Show Host Eugene Domingo.

Maja Salvador was also present to receive her Best Television Actress trophy.

ABS-CBN Pampanga held on the Best Local Television Station for two years while ABS-CBN capped the event by taking the coveted Best National Television Station. The HAU Communicator's League partnered with 31 schools all over Central Luzon that generated a total of 35,000 votes from students, teachers and non-teaching personnels, making it one of the biggest university-based award-giving bodies in the country today.

Participating schools from Bataan include Asia Pacific College of Advanced Studies, Bataan Peninsula State University and Limay Polytechnic College. Bulacan was represented by Dr. Yanga’s College Inc., Bulacan State University Philippines, La Consolacion University, Colegio De San Gabriel Arcangel and Meycauayuan College. Host Holy Angel University lead Pampanga schools St. Nicolas College of Business and Technology, AMA Computer University (ANGELES), University of Assumption, Mary the Queen College, City College of Angeles, Mabalacat City College, Don Honorio Ventura Technological State University, Jocson College, System Plus College Foundation-Miranda and ACLC Angeles and Pampanga State Agricultural University.

Participants from Nueva Ecija are Araullo University, College of Immaculate Conception, Core Gateway College, Central Luzon State University, Nueva Ecija University of Science and Technology and Wesleyan University of the Philippines.

Tarlac was represented by Tarlac College of Agriculture and Tarlac State University.

Columban College, Lyceum of Subic Bay and Ramon Magsaysay Technological State University represented the province of Zambales.

Date Posted: 03-21-2016