News and Events

ABS-CBN, GMA split Central Luzon TV awards

The Second Paragala Central Luzon Media Awards were dominated by the country’s two leading TV networks, with 14 trophies each but ABS-CBN running away with the two top prizes, Best National TV Station and Best Regional TV Station.

Celebrities Coco Martin, Angel Locsin, Eugene Domingo and Mike Enriquez personally received their awards while Vice Ganda, Jessica Soho, Kim Atienza, Kara David and the cast of A.S.A.P. sent taped acceptance speeches.

Holy Angel University, the biggest private school in Central Luzon, solicited more than 30,000 votes from its student population as well as from 23 partner colleges and universities in Bulacan, Tarlac, Bataan, Zambales and Nueva Ecija. The HAU Communicators League spearheaded the project.

In his speech, Coco Martin recalled coming to HAU when he and Brillante Mendoza were shooting his first film “Masahista” and giving workshops to student filmmakers. Eugene Domingo, on the other hand, said she was impressed with the campus.

The complete list of winners:

Best National TV Station: ABS-CBN
Best Regional TV Station: ABS-CBN Pampanga
Best TV Actor: Coco Martin, Ikaw Lamang (ABS-CBN)
Best TV Actress: Angel Locsin, The Legal Wife (ABS-CBN)
Best Teleserye: The Legal Wife (ABS-CBN)
Best Drama Anthology: Maala-ala Mo Kaya (ABS-CBN)
Best News Program: 24 Oras (GMA)
Best Male News Anchor: Mike Enriquez, 24 Oras (GMA)
Best Female News Anchor: Jessica Soho, State of the Nation (GMA)
Best Public Affairs Talk Show: Tunay na Buhay (GMA)
Best Investigative Show: Imbestigador (GMA)
Best Educational Show: Matanglawin (ABS-CBN)
Best Documentary Show: I-Witness (GMA)
Best Magazine Show: Kapuso Mo, Jessica Soho (GMA)
Best Magazine Show Host: Jessica Soho, Kapuso Mo, Jessica Soho (GMA)
Best Morning Show: Umagang Kay Ganda (ABS-CBN)
Best Morning Show Host: Arnold Clavio, Unang Hirit (GMA)
Best Entertainment News Program: The Buzz (ABS-CBN)
Best Entertainment News Program Host: Kris Aquino, Aquino and Abunda Tonight (ABS-CBN)
Best Game Show: Celebrity Bluff (GMA 7)
Best Game Show Host: Eugene Domingo, celebrity Bluff (GMA)
Best Variety Show: It’s Showtime (ABS-CBN)
Best Variety Show Host: Vice Ganda, It’s Showtime (ABS-CBN)
Best Talk Show: Gandang Gabi, Vice (ABS-CBN)
Best Talk Show Host: Vice Ganda, Gandang Gabi, Vice (ABS-CBN)
Best Musical Variety Show: A.S.A.P. 20 (ABS-CBN)
Best Gag Show: Bubble Gang (GMA)
Best Sitcom: Pepito Manaloto (GMA)
Best Male Child Performer: Bugoy Carino, Goin' Bulilit (ABS-CBN)
Best Female Child Performer: Ryzza Mae Dizon, My Little Bossing (GMA)

Date Posted: 02-22-2015