News and Events

HAU announces Founders Day awardees

Holy Angel University has announced the recipients of this year’s Founders Day awards. They are:

AMBETH R. OCAMPO, popular historian, book author, lecturer, and associate professor of the Ateneo de Manila University, recipient of the Juan D. Nepomuceno Cultural Award (Research and Scholarship category);

ANDY P. ALVIZ, musician, writer, choreographer and founder of ArtiSta. Rita, ImaArti and Teatru Kapampangan, recipient of the Juan. D. Nepomuceno Cultural Award (Arts category);

FELICIDAD TAN SY, co-founder and trustee of SM Foundation, Inc., whose advocacies include education, health and community development, recipient of the Laus Deo Semper Award for outstanding community service;

FLORINA F. CASTILLO, first lay principal of the St. Scholastica’s College grade school department, recipient of the Order of St. Michael the Archangel given to Catholic lay educators;

FERDINAND D. LAPUZ, independent film producer and advocate of quality Filipino films, recipient of the Order of St. Gabriel the Archangel, given to outstanding HAU alumni; and

MERLE VILLANUEVA MORGAN, former Personnel Officer of Holy Angel University, recipient of the Order of St. Raphael the Archangel, given to former HAU employees for exemplary record of service.

The University confers the Order of the Archangels on individuals who serve as inspiration and role models by representing the best qualities of the archangels. The special category of Laus Deo Semper Award, named after the school motto (“Praise be to God always”) is given to an individual who is known for his work in community service and development.

Previous recipients of these awards include Antonio Meloto Jr., Rosa Rosal, Onofre Pagsanhan,, Regalado Trota Jose, and Carmelita Quebengco.

The Juan D. Nepomuceno Cultural Awards, on the other hand, are given to cultural workers, scholars and artists who advance the cause of Kapampangan studies and Kapampangan culture. The awards are named after the University founder who was a cultural advocate through his works in the Kapampangan language.

Previous awardees include National Artist Bencab, Patis Tesoro, Brillante Mendoza, Anicia del Corro, John Larkin, Willy Layug, and Nina Tomen.

The HAU Founders Day awards are given every year during the birth anniversary of the University founder, Juan D. Nepomuceno on March 8. This year is Don Juan’s 123rd birth anniversary and the University’s 82nd founding anniversary.

Academic and non-academic departments within the University submit their nominations which are short-listed by a committee before being submitted to the Board of Trustees for final decision.

The conferment ceremonies will be held at the University Theatre on Friday, March 6 at 10:00 a.m.

Date Posted: 02-19-2015